20 Questions in 20 Days: Team Captains?

Posted Jul 18, 2014

Our 20 questions in 20 days series features staff writers answers pressing questions heading into Training Camp

Question 18: Who will be voted team captains?

Four of the five 2013 captains are still on the team – Eli Manning, Chris Snee, Antrel Rolle and Zak DeOssie. It will be an upset if all of them are not re-elected. The question is who will replace Justin Tuck as the fifth captain? The heavy favorite is middle linebacker Jon Beason, who was a team leader virtually upon his arrival in a trade last Oct. 4.
JOHN SCHMEELK: Eli, DeOssie, Rolle, Beason, Snee.

DAN SALOMONE: First you have to talk about whether they will go back to having three captains or stick with five, which they had last season (Eli Manning, Justin Tuck, Antrel Rolle, Chris Snee, and Zak DeOssie) for the first time since 2008. If they go with three, I think that’s set with Manning, Rolle, and DeOssie. But five becomes interesting. I think Snee and Jon Beason would be the other two with Tuck gone, but Victor Cruz won’t be far behind in the votes. You also have to consider guys like Spencer Paysinger or Steve Weatherford for special teams.