Odell Beckham Jr. named second team All-Pro

Posted Jan 8, 2016

Odell Beckham Jr. has been named to the AP All-Pro Second Team

The first year went so well that Odell Beckham Jr. came back for seconds this season.

After being named AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2014, Beckham followed up with a stellar second season for the Giants and finished with 96 receptions for 1,450 yards, both the second-highest totals in franchise history. For his performance, the sophomore was named to the Associated Press All-Pro second team on Friday afternoon.

Beckham, who earlier earned his second Pro Bowl berth in as many seasons, broke Randy Moss’ NFL record for most receiving yards in a player’s first two seasons.

Beckham now has 2,755 yards after Moss had 2,726 from 1998-99.

“To be in company with Randy Moss, I can’t ask for much more,” said Beckham, who also tied Homer Jones’ single-season franchise record with 13 touchdowns in 2015. “He’s a guy that I looked up to all my life…probably have all his jerseys. To be able to do some of the things that I’ve done the past two years with this team, it’s been very special.”

Pittsburgh’s Antonio Brown, who led all receivers with 49 of 50 votes, earned first-team honors along with Atlanta’s Julio Jones (41). Beckham was named to the second team along with fellow wide receivers Brandon Marshall of the Jets and DeAndre Hopkins of the Texans.

While Beckham was the Giants’ lone representative this year, Dwayne Harris received four votes as a returner, and second-year pro Weston Richburg received one vote at center.

QB Cam Newton, Carolina Carson Palmer, Arizona
RB Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Todd Gurley, St. Louis
Doug Martin, Tampa Bay Devonta Freeman, Atlanta
FB Mike Tolbert, Carolina Patrick DiMarco, Atlanta
TE Rob Gronkowski, New England Greg Olsen, Carolina
WR Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Odell Beckham Jr, New York Giants
Julio Jones, Atlanta DeAndre Hopkins, Houston
Brandon Marshall, New York Jets
OT Joe Thomas, Cleveland Tyron Smith, Dallas;
Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati Trent Williams, Washington
G Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Josh Sitton, Green Bay
David DeCastro, Pittsburgh Mike Iupati, Arizona
Zach Martin, Dallas
C Ryan Kalil, Carolina Travis Frederick, Dallas
DE J. J. Watt, Houston Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets
Khalil Mack, Oakland Ezekiel Ansah, Detroit
DT Aaron Donald, St. Louis Kawann Short, Carolina
Geno Atkins, Cincinnati Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia
OLB Khalil Mack, Oakland Jamie Collins, New England
Von Miller, Denver
ILB Luke Kuechly, Carolina Bobby Wagner, Seattle
NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco Derrick Johnson, Kansas City
Thomas Davis, Carolina
CB Josh Norman, Carolina Richard Sherman, Seattle
Patrick Peterson, Arizona Chris Harris, Jr., Denver a
Marcus Peters, Kansas City
S Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona Reggie Nelson, Cincinnati
Eric Berry, Kansas City Charles Woodson Oakland
K Stephen Gostkowski, New England Dan Bailey, Dallas
P Johnny Hekker, St. Louis Sam Koch, Baltimore
KR Tyler Lockett, Seattle Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota