Skip to main content
New York Giants homepage

Giants News | New York Giants –

Brian Daboll named NFC Coach of the Year in annual 101 Awards


The Giants' season may be over, but the accolades are just beginning.

After a stellar debut season as head coach that saw the team go 9-7-1 and win a Wild Card playoff game, Brian Daboll has been named the NFC Coach of the Year as part of the 53rd annual 101 Awards, the Committee of 101 announced Tuesday.

"Hired in January 2022, Daboll's first season with the Giants saw the team record its first winning season and playoff berth since 2016," the press release stated. "His 20+ years of NFL coaching experience helped the Giants get off to a 6-1 start to the season, marking the best start for a Giants first-year head coach since 1929. He is also the fifth Giants head coach to lead his team to the playoffs in his debut season. Of the three first-time head coaches who made the 2022 playoffs, Daboll is the only one who advanced to the Divisional Round. In doing so, Daboll became the first Giants coach since 1993 to win his post-season debut."

Daboll became the fourth coach in Giants history to win the award, joining Bill Parcells (1986), Dan Reeves (1993), and Jim Fassel (1997).

Over the years, the Giants have also had three recipients of the NFC Defensive Player of the Year award - Lawrence Taylor (1984, 1986), Michael Strahan (2001, 2003) and Landon Collins (2016).

In each full season since 1969, 101 members of the national media select the Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in the American Football Conference and National Football Conference as part of the 101 Awards. The Selection Committee consists of sportswriters and broadcasters that cover the NFL on a regular basis.

The full list of 2022 winners include:

  • NFC Coach of the Year: Brian Daboll, New York Giants
  • AFC Coach of the Year: Doug Pederson, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • NFC Offensive Player of the Year: Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia Eagles
  • AFC Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
  • NFC Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers
  • AFC Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs

The winners will be presented with their awards at the 53rd Annual 101 Awards Gala, scheduled for Saturday, February 25, 2023 in Kansas City.

View photos of head coach Brian Daboll's time with the New York Giants.