Skip to main content
New York Giants homepage

Giants News | New York Giants –

2023 Playoffs

Presented by

Peers vote Dexter Lawrence to Players' All-Pro Team


For the players. By the players.

That was the inspiration behind the NFL Players Association's inaugural vote to determine the top players at each position.

The "Players' All-Pro Team" was revealed heading into Super Wild Card Weekend, and it came as no surprise that Dexter Lawrence was voted in at nose tackle.

The 25-year-old put together a stellar 2022 regular season. He set new career-highs with 7.5 sacks and 28 quarterback hits, shattering his previous bests of 4.0 and 11, respectively. He also set new high marks in total tackles (68), tackles for loss (seven), pass breakups (three) and forced fumbles (two) on his way to being selected to the Pro Bowl for the first time.

"Every great defense has a centerpiece," defensive coordinator Wink Martindale told the media last week. "You go back and look at the defense that we're building with the great defenses of the past, they always have a great centerpiece. And he has definitely become the centerpiece of our defense and I think it's awesome. I told him yesterday I was so happy for him, proud of him, because he's a good person, he's smart, and he's worked his tail off. I think it's great when you see a player succeed who puts as much work in as he has."

After never topping 69 percent of defensive snaps played in his first three seasons, Lawrence played a whopping 82 percent of the Giants' defensive snaps in 2022 (864 snaps).

"I think Dexter's been a really good team leader for us; he's been a good player for us," coach Brian Daboll said recently. "I think different people build their teams different ways. I think it's important to be strong up the middle. Dexter's had a good season for us. I'm glad he's on our football team."

View photos of defensive lineman Dexter Lawrence's career with the Giants.

The Players' All-Pro Team is voted on exclusively by players.

Here are the voting rules, according to the NFLPA website:

  • Only active NFL players can vote and they get only one vote.
  • If a player missed five or more games as of Week 15, then they are ineligible.
  • Players cannot vote for themselves or for their own teammates
  • Players vote for the position group they play in and line up against. (For example, centers can vote for centers, nose tackles, interior defensive linemen, off-ball linebackers)
  • Various player leaders from each team nominate their two best special teams players (or "core teamers") for the ballot. We wanted the locker rooms to decide who should represent their team in that position.

Here is the entire 2022 NFLPA All-Pro Team:

Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs

Wide Receiver: Justin Jefferson, Minnesota Vikings

Wide Receiver: Davante Adams, Las Vegas Raiders

Running Back: Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas Raiders

Fullback: Kyle Juszczyk, San Franciso 49ers

Left Tackle: Trent Williams, San Francisco 49ers

Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns

Right Tackle: Lane Johnson, Philadelphia Eagles

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys

Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles

Interior Defensive Line: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs

Interior Defensive Line: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams

Edge Rusher: Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers

Edge Rusher: Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns

Nose Tackle: Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants

Off-Ball Linebacker: Roquan Smith, Baltimore Ravens

Off-Ball Linebacker: Fred Warner, San Francisco 49ers

Free Safety: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh Steelers

Strong Safety: Derwin James Jr., Los Angeles Chargers

Cornerback: Pat Surtain II, Denver Broncos

Cornerback: Darius Slay, Philadelphia Eagles

Kicker: Jason Myers, Seattle Seahawks

Punter: Tommy Townsend, Kansas City Chiefs

Punt Returner: KaVontae Turpin, Dallas Cowboys

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Atlanta Falcons

Core Teamer: Jeremy Reaves, Washington Commanders

Core Teamer: Justin Hardee, New York Jets

Long Snapper: Morgan Cox, Tennessee Titans


2023 Season Tickets Now Available

Related Content