Skip to main content
New York Giants Website

Giants News | New York Giants – Bracket Challenge: Texas Southern vs. North Carolina

2017 Bracket Challenge: Texas Southern Vs. North Carolina


Notables: DE Michael Strahan (1993, 2nd Rd), WR Homer Jones (1963, 20th Rd)

Strahan spent his entire career with the Giants from 1993-2007. A standout as both a run stopper and pass rusher, Strahan played in a franchise-record 216 regular-season games. He was a four-time first-team All-Pro (1997, 1998, 2001 and 2003), a seven-time Pro Bowler and the 2001 NFL AP Defensive Player of the Year. Strahan had 141.5 career regular season sacks, which is the Giants' franchise record and currently the sixth-highest total in NFL history. Strahan holds the NFL single-season record with 22.5 sacks in 2001. He also led the NFL in 2003 with 18.5 sacks and is the only Giants player to lead the league in sacks twice. Strahan was a captain of the 2007 Giants team that won Super Bowl XLII. Jones had three consecutive 1000-yard seasons from 1966-68 and still ranks fifth in franchise history with 4,845 yards receiving and tied for fifth with 35 touchdown catches. Homer is also credited with "the Spike" touchdown celebration, which is still popular in today's NFL.



Notables: LB Lawrence Taylor (1981, 1st Rd), WR Hakeem Nicks (2009, 1st Rd)

Taylor joined the Giants as the second overall selection of the 1981 NFL Draft and played his entire 13-year career for the team. When Taylor retired, he was the NFL's No. 2 all-time sacks leader in the NFL with 132.5. That total does not include the 9.5 he accumulated as a rookie in 1981 before the sack was an official NFL statistic. Taylor established an NFL record by appearing in 10 consecutive Pro Bowls from 1981-1990. He was named the NFL Rookie of the Year in 1981 and the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1981, 1982, and 1986. He was a unanimous selection as the NFL's Most Valuable Player in 1986, when he had a career-high 20.5 sacks, 105 tackles, five passes defensed and two forced fumbles. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1999. Nicks, the 29th overall pick in 2009, propelled the Giants to their fourth Lombardi Trophy in Super Bowl XLVI. His 444 yards receiving in that playoff run are second only to Larry Fitzgerald's 546 in 2008 for the most in a single postseason.

![ ](

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.