Skip to main content
New York Giants homepage

Giants News | New York Giants –

Giants release first unofficial depth chart

Photos from Thursday's #GiantsCamp

The Giants released their first unofficial depth chart of training camp on Thursday, the key word being "unofficial."


> Five takeaways from Media Hour
> GM Jerry Reese sets goals for 2014
> Inside access to Thursday's practice
> Photos from Training Camp past
> Media Hour: Player interviews
The lineup will change throughout camp and into the preseason, but here are eight things that might catch your eye when looking it over.

1. Devon Kennard is the lone rookie starter. Due primarily to Jon Beason (foot) currently being on PUP, fifth-round draft choice Devon Kennard opens up as the starting strongside linebacker with Jameel McClain in the middle and Jacquian Williams at weakside. Kennard, a USC product, impressed coaches starting with organized team activities (OTAs) and minicamp in the spring. He's doing the same in training camp. Behind Kennard is another rookie, Dan Fox out of Notre Dame.

2. Larry Donnell leads the tight ends. All eyes have been on the tight end position this summer, and without an incumbent, the speculation has differed on which one will be the starter. Right now, the man is Larry Donnell, who was originally picked up by the Giants as an undrafted free agent in 2012. Behind him, in order, are Daniel Fells, undrafted rookie Xavier Grimble, Kellen Davis and Adrien Robinson.

3. Mike Patterson starts at defensive tackle opposite Cullen Jenkins. After Linval Joseph, who started the last three seasons for the Giants, went to Minnesota in free agency, the question became who will take his place. The Giants have two up-and-comers in Johnathan Hankins, last year's second-round draft choice, and Markus Kuhn, their 2012 seventh-round selection, but the veteran Patterson starts on top. Meanwhile, Jay Bromley, a rookie third-round draft choice, is third on the depth chart behind Hankins.

4. Recently-cleared David Wilson opens up as the No. 2 running back. Wilson, who was just cleared on Monday for full participation in camp after a neck injury he suffered last October, is listed second behind offseason acquisition Rashad Jennings.

  1. Eight offseason additions claim top spots.*Of the 28 positions, including the six special teams roles, eight new Giants lead their groups -- three on offense (LG Geoff Schwartz, C J.D. Walton, RB Rashad Jennings), three defense (SLB Devon Kennard, MLB Jameel McClain, LCB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie), and two special teams (KR Quintin Demps, PR Trindon Holliday). *

6. Second-round draft pick Weston Richburg is second-team center. The rookie out of Colorado State, who has taken reps at both guard and center, sits behind J.D. Walton at center. Meanwhile, Dallas Reynolds, who had been a backup center, is now listed at left guard behind Geoff Schwartz.

7. Mathias Kiwanuka starts opposite Jason Pierre-Paul. Veteran defensive end Mathias Kiwanuka, one of the last remaining Giants who were part of both Super Bowl XLII and XLVI teams, starts at left defensive end with Jason Pierre-Paul on the right side. Robert Ayers Jr., who was brought in as a free agent following Justin Tuck's departure, is behind Kiwanuka, while second-year pro Damontre Moore backs up Pierre-Paul.

8. Eric Herman slides to center. Labels don't mean much to offensive linemen because they pride themselves on versatility. But Herman, a seventh-round draft choice from last year, was typically slotted at guard but now is at third-string center.

WR Rueben Randle Odell Beckham Jr Mario Manningham Marcus Harris Trindon Holliday Travis Harvey
LT Will Beatty Charles Brown James Brewer Rogers Gaines
LG Geoff Schwartz Dallas Reynolds Jamaal Johnson-Webb  
C J.D. Walton Weston Richburg Eric Herman  
RG Brandon Mosley John Jerry John Sullen  
RT Justin Pugh Troy Kropog DeMarcus Love  
TE Larry Donnell Daniel Fells Xavier Grimble Kellen Davis Adrien Robinson
WR Victor Cruz Jerrel Jernigan Julian Talley Preston Parker Corey Washington
QB Eli Manning Ryan Nassib Curtis Painter  
FB Henry Hynoski John Conner    
RB Rashad Jennings David Wilson Peyton Hillis Andre Williams Kendall Gaskins Michael Cox
LDE Mathias Kiwanuka Robert Ayers Kerry Wynn Jordan Stanton
LDT Cullen Jenkins Johnathan Hankins Jay Bromley  
RDT Mike Patterson Markus Kuhn Kelcy Quarles Everett Dawkins
RDE Jason Pierre-Paul Damontre Moore Kendrick Adams Emmanuel Dieke
SLB Devon Kennard Dan Fox Spencer Adkins  
MLB Jameel McClain Mark Herzlich Terrell Manning Jon Beason
WLB Jacquian Williams Spencer Paysinger Justin Anderson  
LCB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie Trumaine McBride Zack Bowman Travis Howard
RCB Prince Amukamara Walter Thurmond III Jayron Hosley Charles James II Bennett Jackson
FS Stevie Brown Quintin Demps Thomas Gordon Kyle Sebetic
SS Antrel Rolle Cooper Taylor Nat Berhe CJ Barnett
P Steve Weatherford      
PK Josh Brown Brandon McManus    
H Steve Weatherford      
LS Zak DeOssie      
KR Quintin Demps Trindon Holliday David Wilson Preston Parker Jerrel Jernigan
PR Trindon Holliday Rueben Randle Jerrel Jernigan Preston Parker David Wilson
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.