Giants News | New York Giants –

Justin Pugh is Giants nominee for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Offensive lineman Justin Pugh is the Giants nominee for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award:

The 32 player nominees for the fourth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of WARRICK DUNN, CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 15. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Past recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award are FRANK GORE of the Indianapolis Colts (2016),CHARLES WOODSON of the Oakland Raiders (2015) and LARRY FITZGERALD of the Arizona Cardinals (2014).

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Arizona CardinalsCB Patrick Peterson
Atlanta FalconsS Ricardo Allen
Baltimore RavensQB Joe Flacco
Buffalo BillsLB Lorenzo Alexander
Carolina PanthersLB Luke Kuechly
Chicago BearsRB Benny Cunningham
Cincinnati BengalsDE Carlos Dunlap
Cleveland BrownsT Joe Thomas
Dallas CowboysC Travis Frederick
Denver BroncosLB Von Miller
Detroit LionsDT Haloti Ngata
Green Bay PackersS Morgan Burnett
Houston TexansP Shane Lechler
Indianapolis ColtsWR T.Y. Hilton
Jacksonville JaguarsLB Paul Posluszny
Kansas City ChiefsQB Alex Smith
Los Angeles ChargersTE Antonio Gates
Los Angeles RamsG Rodger Saffold
Miami DolphinsG Jermon Bushrod
Minnesota VikingsDE Brian Robinson
New England PatriotsWR Matthew Slater
New Orleans SaintsQB Drew Brees
New York GiantsT Justin Pugh
New York JetsQB Joshn McCown
Oakland RaidersQB Derek Carr
Philadelphia EaglesTE Brent Celek
Pittsburgh SteelersDE Cameron Heyward
San Francisco 49ersT Joe Staley
Seattle SeahawksDE Cliff Avril
Tampa Bay BuccaneersDE Gerald McCoy
Tennessee TitansQB Marcus Mariota
Washington RedskinsTE Vernon Davis
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.