Giants News | New York Giants –

Kurt Warner, Morten Andersen among HOF Finalists

Flashback Friday to photos of QB Kurt Warner and Kicker Morten Andersen on the New York Giants

The Pro Football Hall of Fame revealed its modern-era finalists for the Class of 2015 on Thursday night, and two of the 15 potential gold jackets once donned Giants uniforms in their illustrious careers.


> 5 reasons to watch the Pro Bowl
> John Mara responds to Mueller Report
> Offseason Chat: Steve Weatherford
> 2015 Regular Season venues
> Sights and Sounds: Best of 2014

Quarterback Kurt Warner, who is one of three first-year eligible players (Orlando Pace and Junior Seau are the others), and kicker Morten Andersen now await the final announcement, which will be on Jan. 31 as part of the NFL Honors awards show during Super Bowl Weekend.

Warner, a two-time NFL MVP who led the Rams to their lone Super Bowl title and then the Cardinals to their lone Super Bowl appearance, spent one of his 12 NFL seasons with the Giants in 2004.

He started the first nine games of the season before then-rookie and first overall draft pick Eli Manning took over and never looked back. Warner was the last quarterback to start for the Giants as Manning began his current streak of 178 consecutive starts, including the postseason.

Three years before that, Andersen was the Giants' kicker in 2001, making 23 of his 565 career field goals in 16 games with Big Blue. It was one chapter of Andersen's 25-year run in the NFL that included 2,544 points, the most by any player in the history of the league.

Here is a full list of the 15 modern-era finalists, plus one senior and two from the contributor category:

Morten Andersen, kicker (1982-2004, 2006-2007)

Jerome Bettis, running back (1993-2005)

Tim Brown, wide receiver (1988-2004)

Don Coryell, head coach (1973-77, 1978-1986)

Terrell Davis, running back (1995-2001)

Tony Dungy, head coach (1996-2008)

Kevin Greene, defensive end/linebacker (1985-1999)

Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker (1986-1996; 1999)

Marvin Harrison, wide receiver (1996-2008)

Jimmy Johnson, coach (1989-1993, 1996-1999)

John Lynch, safety (1993-2007)

Orlando Pace, offensive tackle (1997-2009)

Bill Polian, contributor (1978-1982, 1984-2011)

Junior Seau, linebacker (1990-2009)

Will Shields, guard (1993-2006)

Mick Tingelhoff, center (1962-1978)

Kurt Warner, quarterback (1998-2009)

Ron Wolf, contributor (1963-1974, 1976-2001)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.