Giants News | New York Giants –

Path to the 2017 NFL Draft begins at the Senior Bowl


The annual college all-star game will be held Saturday in Mobile, Alabama:

Before the Pro Bowl and Super Bowl, the NFL community turns its attention to the Senior Bowl.

>Alumni clean up local park
>Fact or Fiction: Draft strategy
>Top 5 Plays of 2016
>Top 10 Victor Cruz moments
>Daniel Jeremiah's Mock Draft 1.0

That's where general managers hope to find players capable of someday making it to the NFL's biggest stages.

The annual college all-star game will be played this Saturday (2:30 p.m. ET, NFL Network) at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala., where scouting departments from all 32 clubs will gather to watch the best of the country's outgoing seniors. Last year, 87 of the 253 future draft picks (34.4 percent) were on the 2016 Senior Bowl roster, including three Giants: wide receiver Sterling Shepard, safety Darian Thompson, and tight end Jerell Adams, who was tied for a team-high 49 receiving yards.

The Senior Bowl is divided into North and South teams that are led by two NFL coaching staffs. This year, John Fox and the Bears will guide the North, while Hue Jackson and the Browns have the South. Players will arrive by Jan. 23 to begin practices the next day.

Check out photos from Giants who played in the Senior Bowl

Here is a look at notable Giants in the Senior Bowl, which dates back to 1950:

'16 - Sterling Shepard, WR
'16 - Darian Thompson, DB
'16 - Jerell Adams, TE
'15 - Owa Odighizuwa, DL
'14 - Weston Richburg, OL
'13 - Justin Pugh, OL
'13 - Ryan Nassib, QB
'11 - Mark Herzlich, LB
'09 - Rashad Jennings, RB
'08 - Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, DB
'07 - Aaron Ross, DB
'06 - Mathias Kiwanuka, DL
'05 - Corey Webster, DB
'99 - Luke Petitgout, OL
'97 - Tiki Barber, RB
'97 - Brad Maynard, P
'96 - Amani Toomer, WR
'93 - Michael Strahan, DL
'89 - Howard Cross, TE
'84 - Carl Banks, LB
'65 - Tucker Frederickson, B
'59 - Joe Morrison, B
'56 - Sam Huff, T
'52 - Frank Gifford, B

Giants in Senior Bowl Hall of Fame

Class of 1990 - Tucker Frederickson and Wellington Mara
Class of 1991 - Morten Andersen
Class of 1992 - Sam Huff
Class of 1993 - Tom Landry
Class of 2006 - Michael Strahan

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.