Skip to main content
New York Giants Website

Giants News | New York Giants –

Saquon Barkley given 'Good Guy Award' by Giants PFWA chapter


Saquon Barkley has been elected winner of the 23rd annual George Young-Ernie Accorsi Media Good Guy Award by the New York Giants Chapter of the Professional Football Writers of America for his professionalism and availability during the 2023 season.

The award is named for the two former general managers of the Giants and given annually to recognize a Giants player for his consistent and outstanding cooperation with the writers who cover the team on a daily basis.

Barkley received 10 of a possible 17 first-place votes from members of the chapter. Wide receiver Darius Slayton finished second in the voting for the second straight year. He received three first-place votes and appeared on a team-high 14 ballots, making this one of the closest votes in the history of the award. Linebacker Bobby Okereke finished third with three first-place votes. Guard Justin Pugh received the other first-place vote. In all, 10 different players appeared on at least one of the 17 ballots.

Barkley's name will be added to a plaque that honors all winners and resides in the media work room at the Giants' Quest Diagnostics Training Center.

View photos of Giants running back Saquon Barkley's time with the New York Giants.

Winners of the George Young-Ernie Accorsi Good Guy Award

2022 – RB Saquon Barkley

2022 – S Julian Love

2021 – DL Leonard Williams

2020 – S Logan Ryan

2019 – TE Evan Engram

2018 – WR Sterling Shepard

2017 – S Landon Collins

2016 – WR Victor Cruz

2015 – CB Prince Amukamara

2014 – RB Rashad Jennings

2013 – CB Terrell Thomas

2012 – S Antrel Rolle

2011 – WR Victor Cruz

2010 – DT Barry Cofield

2009 – DE Mathias Kiwanuka

2008 – QB Eli Manning

2007 – DE Justin Tuck

2006 – WR Plaxico Burress

2005 – RB Tiki Barber

2004 – QB Kurt Warner

2003 – WR Ike Hilliard

2002 – QB Kerry Collins

2001 – OL Lomas Brown