Skip to main content
New York Giants homepage

Giants News | New York Giants –

Tom Coughlin moves closer to Pro Football Hall of Fame; named 1 of 12 semifinalists


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Former Giants coach Tom Coughlin moved another step closer to potential enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The two-time Super Bowl winner was announced today as one of the 12 semifinalists in the Coach/Contributor category for consideration for the Class of 2024. Dan Reeves, another former Giants coach, is also among the final 12.

Coughlin was named one of the original 29 semifinalists on July 12. The Hall's Coach/Contributor Committee reduced that list to 12: Coughlin, Reeves, Mike Holmgren, Frank "Bucko" Kilroy, Robert Kraft, Buddy Parker, Art Rooney Jr., Marty Schottenheimer, Mike Shanahan, Clark Shaughnessy, Lloyd Wells and John Wooten.

Schottenheimer was a Giants assistant coach from 1975-77.

Coach/Contributor Committee members will meet Aug. 15 to select one coach or contributor for the Class of 2024. Holmgren, Kilroy, Kraft, Parker, Reeves, Rooney, Shanahan, Shaughnessy and Wooten also reached this stage for the Class of 2023. The late Don Coryell was the finalist last year and will be enshrined next week.

View photos of two-time Super Bowl champion head coach Tom Coughlin.

Coughlin was the Giants' head coach from 2004-15. His signature achievements were the Giants' victories against the New England Patriots in Super Bowls XLII and XLVI. Coughlin was just the second man to coach the Giants for at least 12 seasons. Only Hall of Famer Steve Owen, who reigned for 23 full seasons from 1931-53, has led the team longer. With the Giants, Coughlin was 102-90 in the regular season and 8-3 in the postseason. The 102 victories are second in franchise history to Owen's 151. Coughlin led the Giants to three NFC East titles and five playoff berths. His eight postseason triumphs tie him with Bill Parcells for the most ever by a Giants coach. Coughlin was the team's wide receivers coach from 1988-90, a tenure that ended with the team's victory in Super Bowl XXV.

In addition, Coughlin was the first coach of the Jacksonville Jaguars, who began play in 1995. Under Coughlin, the Jaguars were the most successful expansion team in NFL history. Coughlin compiled a 68-60 regular season record (.531), plus a 4-4 mark in the playoffs, including two trips to the AFC Championship Game. The Jaguars made the playoffs every year from 1996-99, the only expansion team in history to earn four postseason berths in its first five seasons.

Coughlin's 20-year record was 182-157 (.537). The 182 victories are the 12th-highest total in NFL history.

Reeves was the head coach of the Denver Broncos (1981-1992), Giants (1993-96) and Atlanta Falcons (1997-2003). His overall record was 201-174-2 (.536) and he ranks ninth among NFL coaches in career victories.

Reeves won four conference championships in 23 seasons and was a two-time AP NFL Coach of the Year, including in 1993 with the Giants.

In four Giants seasons, Reeves was 31-33 in the regular season and 1-1 in the postseason.

Reeves died on Jan. 1, 2022.

None of the four Giants players among the 31 semifinalists considered by the Seniors Committee advanced to the final round. They were Charlie Conerly, Ottis Anderson, Carl Banks and Everson Walls.

Those who did advance were Ken Anderson, Maxie Baughan, Roger Craig, Randy Gradishar, Joe Jacoby, Albert Lewis, Steve McMichael, Eddie Meador, Art Powell, Sterling Sharpe, Otis Taylor and Al Wistert.

Each finalist played his last game in professional football no later than the 1998 season.

The Seniors Committee will meet Aug. 22 and may select up to three Seniors for final consideration as members of the Class of 2024. Expansion of the Seniors pool for election to the Hall was approved in 2022 for the Classes of 2023, 2024 and 2025.

View iconic photos from the Giants' Super Bowl XLII victory over the undefeated Patriots.