Giants News | New York Giants –

Dexter Lawrence named to PFWA All-Rookie Team


No Giants defensive lineman played more snaps than Dexter Lawrence in 2019. It is what he did with that time, though, that caught people's attention.

Lawrence, the second of three picks in the first round by general manager Dave Gettleman last April, was named to the 2019 Professional Football Writers of America All-Rookie Team on Tuesday. After an All-American career at Clemson, for whom he helped win two national championships, Lawrence started all 16 games as a rookie and recorded 38 tackles, 2.5 sacks, nine quarterback hits and a forced fumble.

Lawrence was selected 17th overall in the 2019 NFL Draft. He joined fellow first-rounders Josh Allen (No. 7, Jaguars), Ed Oliver (No. 9, Bills) and Nick Bosa (No. 2, 49ers) as the four defensive linemen to make the All-Rookie Team. PFWA voted Bosa as both the overall Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year. Raiders running back Josh Jacobs was named the Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Lawrence's selection marks the eighth consecutive year the Giants have been represented on the All-Rookie Team.

Saquon Barkley, who last season led the NFL in yards from scrimmage and became the third rookie in NFL history to reach 2,000, became the second Giant to win PFWA's Offensive Rookie of the Year Award since it was established in 1969. Wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. was so honored in 2014. That year, Beckham caught 91 passes to set the franchise rookie record, which Barkley tied. Hall of Famer Lawrence Taylor won the defensive award in 1981 after the Giants drafted him second overall. Left guard Will Hernandez also made the All-Rookie Team in 2018.

View photos of defensive lineman Dexter Lawrence's career with the Giants.



QB – Kyler Murray, Arizona Cardinals

RB – Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders; Miles Sanders, Philadelphia Eagles

WR – A.J. Brown, Tennessee Titans; Terry McLaurin, Washington Redskins

TE – Noah Fant, Denver Broncos

C – Erik McCoy, New Orleans Saints

G – Elgton Jenkins, Green Bay Packers; Dalton Risner, Denver Broncos

T – Tytus Howard, Houston Texans; Jawaan Taylor, Jacksonville Jaguars


DL – Josh Allen, Jacksonville Jaguars; Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers; Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Ed Oliver, Buffalo Bills

LB – Devin Bush, Pittsburgh Steelers; Dre Greenlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Devin White, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

CB – Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, New Orleans Saints; Sean Murphy-Bunting, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

S – Darnell Savage, Green Bay Packers; Juan Thornhill, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams

PK – Austin Seibert, Cleveland Browns

P – Jamie Gillan, Cleveland Browns

KR – Mecole Hardman, Kansas City Chiefs

PR – Deonte Harris, New Orleans Saints

ST – Drue Tranquill, Los Angeles Chargers

2019 ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers

2019 OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders

2019 DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers

PFWA NFL ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1966 – MLB Tommy Nobis, Atlanta Falcons; 1967-75 – no selections; 1976 – WR Sammy White, Minnesota Vikings; 1977 – RB Tony Dorsett, Dallas Cowboys; 1978 – RB Earl Campbell, Houston Oilers; 1979 – RB Ottis Anderson, St. Louis Cardinals; 1980 – RB Billy Sims, Detroit Lions; 1981 – RB George Rogers, New Orleans Saints; 1982 – RB Marcus Allen, Los Angeles Raiders; 1983 – RB Eric Dickerson, Los Angeles Rams; 1984 – WR/KR Louis Lipps, Pittsburgh Steelers; 1985 – WR Eddie Brown, Cincinnati Bengals; 1986 – RB Rueben Mayes, New Orleans Saints; 1987 – ILB Shane Conlan, Buffalo Bills; 1988 – RB John Stephens, New England Patriots; 1990 – S Mark Carrier, Chicago Bears; 1991 – OLB Mike Croel, Denver Broncos; 1992-2012 – no selections; 2013 – RB Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers; 2014 – WR Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants; 2015 – RB Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; 2016 – RB Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; 2017 – RB Kareem Hunt, Kansas City Chiefs; 2018 – QB Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns; 2019 – DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers.


Giants App

Download the Giants' official app for iPhone, iPad and Android devices