Skip to main content
New York Giants Website

Giants News | New York Giants –

Bobby Okereke named Giants' nominee for 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Linebacker Bobby Okereke has been named the Giants' nominee for the 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, and a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player. The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. Quarterback Daniel Jones was the Giants' nominee last season.

"Sportsmanship is the core of the game, the vanguard of public confidence, the keeper of game integrity," said Troy Vincent, NFL executive vice president of football operations. "These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the spirit of fair play and the values of respect, integrity, commitment to team and resiliency at the highest level of competition."

In just his first season with the Giants, Okereke was voted a team captain and is tied for fifth in the NFL with 105 tackles. He shares that spot with eight-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro linebacker Bobby Wagner, who is this year's nominee for the Seattle Seahawks.

2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees

Arizona Cardinals - Budda Baker

Atlanta Falcons - Jake Matthews

Baltimore Ravens - Kevin Zeitler

Buffalo Bills - Mitch Morse

Carolina Panthers - Adam Thielen

Chicago Bears - T.J. Edwards

Cincinnati Bengals - Tyler Boyd

Cleveland Browns - Joel Bitonio

Dallas Cowboys - Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos - Lloyd Cushenberry III

Detroit Lions - Taylor Decker

Green Bay Packers - Aaron Jones

Houston Texans - Robert Woods

Indianapolis Colts - DeForest Buckner

Jacksonville Jaguars - Foyesade Oluokun

Kansas City Chiefs - Trent McDuffie

Las Vegas Raiders - Maxx Crosby

Los Angeles Chargers - Khalil Mack

Los Angeles Rams - Jordan Fuller

Miami Dolphins - Durham Smythe

Minnesota Vikings - Danielle Hunter

New England Patriots - David Andrews

New Orleans Saints - Erik McCoy

New York Giants - Bobby Okereke

New York Jets - C.J. Mosley

Philadelphia Eagles - Fletcher Cox

Pittsburgh Steelers - Larry Ogunjobi

San Francisco 49ers - Kyle Juszczyk

Seattle Seahawks - Bobby Wagner

Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Chris Godwin

Tennessee Titans - Morgan Cox

Washington Commanders - Logan Thomas​

Previous Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

  • 2022: DT Calais Campbell (Baltimore Ravens)
  • 2021: WR Matthew Slater (New England Patriots)
  • 2020: QB Teddy Bridgewater (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2019: RB Adrian Peterson (Washington Football Team)
  • 2018: QB Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints)
  • 2017: LB Luke Kuechly (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2016: RB Frank Gore (Indianapolis Colts)
  • 2015: CB Charles Woodson (Oakland Raiders)
  • 2014: WR Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals)

View photos of every move made by the Giants during the 2023 cycle.


Giants App

Download the Giants' official app for iPhone, iPad and Android devices