Giants News | New York Giants –

Giants Now

Presented by

Giants Now: 7 Giants nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023


Seven Giants nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Tuesday the 129 Modern-Era nominees up for consideration for the Hall of Fame's Class of 2023.

Among the 129 candidates are seven Giants players: DE Justin Tuck, G Chris Snee, RB Tiki Barber, LB Jessie Armstead, P Jeff Feagles, P Sean Landeta, and T Lomas Brown.

Nineteen Finalists will be presented to the full 49-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual meeting to choose the Class of 2023. Those candidates will consist of 15 Modern-Era Players Finalists and the recently named Seniors Finalists Joe Klecko, Chuck Howley and Ken Riley and Coach/Contributor Finalist Don Coryell.

The Selection Committee will meet early next year (on a date to be determined) in advance of Super Bowl LVII. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process bylaws provide that between four and nine new members will be selected.

The Seniors Finalists and Coach/Contributor Finalist are voted "yes" or "no" for election at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80% support from the Committee to join the Class of 2023. The Modern-Era Finalists will be trimmed during the meeting from 15 to 10, then from 10 to five. The remaining five Finalists will be voted on individually, "yes" or "no," and must receive the same 80% positive vote as the Seniors and Coach/Contributor to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Giants are one of the most well-represented teams in Canton. This should come as no surprise considering the Giants are one of the NFL's oldest franchises.

The most recent Giant to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame is general manager George Young (2020) and the last Giants player to go into the Hall of Fame is defensive end Michael Strahan (2014).

View the best photos of the Giants celebrating back-to-back wins to open the 2022 season.

Get to know each of the Giants' Modern-Era candidates for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

DE Justin Tuck

A third-round draft choice from Notre Dame in 2005, Tuck played in 127 regular-season games with 90 starts in nine Giants seasons. He was a defensive catalyst on the teams that won Super Bowl XLII and Super Bowl XLVI, a two-time Pro Bowler, and four-time team captain. Tuck was credited with more than 500 tackles. His 60.5 sacks are officially the sixth-highest total in franchise history. Tuck also played in 10 postseason games. He had 5.5 sacks, including two sacks of Tom Brady in each of the Super Bowl victories, when a dominant defensive line was one of the vital components of the Giants' success.

G Chris Snee

Snee joined the Giants as a second-round draft choice in 2004 from Boston College. That preseason, he became the starter at right guard and stayed in that position for 10 years. Snee was a two-time Super Bowl champion, a four-time Pro Bowler and an All-Pro in 2010. He started all 141 regular-season games and 11 postseason games in which he played. From 2005-11, he started 101 consecutive regular-season games (plus seven postseason games) before missing a game with a concussion. Snee missed only 19 games in his 10 seasons, including 13 in 2013, his final year.

RB Tiki Barber

Barber joined the Giants as a second-round draft choice in 1997. When he retired following his 10th season in 2006, his name was all over the franchise's record book. Barber owns the Giants marks for rushing attempts in a career (2,217) and in a season (357 in 2005) and rushing yards in a career (10,440), a season (1,860 in 2005) and a game (234 at Washington on Dec. 20, 2006 in his final regular season game). Barber has the top three and four of the top five single-season rushing totals in Giants history and the two highest game totals. His 38 100-yard games are twice as many as No. 2 Joe Morris and his nine 100-yard games in 2004 is another record. Barber has the longest run from scrimmage in Giants history (95 yards at Oakland on Dec. 31, 2005) and his 55 rushing touchdowns are another one of his records. Barber's 17,359 all-purpose yards give him another record. He owns the Giants' top five single-season total yardage figures. Another one of his records is 13 catches at Dallas on Jan. 2, 2000. Barber is also second in franchise history with 586 career receptions. He was selected to three Pro Bowls (2004-06).

LB Jessie Armstead

Armstead, a five-time Pro Bowler, was the 207th player chosen in the 1993 draft. Armstead's draft was the last that had an eighth round. He was a special teams dynamo and top -flight reserve his first three seasons before becoming the starting weakside linebacker in 1996. Armstead had a team-high 114 tackles, the first of five consecutive seasons with a more than 100. The next year, he had a career-best 134 stops, was selected to his first Pro Bowl and was a catalyst as the Giants won the NFC East title. In 2000 he had one of his best seasons and the Giants routed Minnesota, 41-0, in the NFC Championship Game.

P Jeff Feagles

Feagles played an incredible 22 seasons in the NFL, the last seven of which he spent with the Giants. He holds several NFL records, including most consecutive games played (352), most career punts (1,713), most career punt yards (71,211) and most punts inside the 20-yard line (554). Feagles never missed a game in his career and was consistent throughout all 22 seasons. He was named to the Pro Football Writers Association All-Rookie Team in 1988, he made two Pro Bowls (1995, 2008) and was a member of the Giants' Super Bowl XLII Championship team.

P Sean Landeta

Landeta played 21 seasons in the NFL, with the first eight and a half coming with the Giants. In those 111 games, Landeta ranked second in punts (526) and third in punt yards (22,806) in franchise history. He was a part of the Giants' Super Bowl XXI and XXV Championship teams, and was also named First-Team All-Pro three times and to the Pro Bowl twice while with the Giants. The Pro Football Hall of Fame voted Landeta onto the NFL 1980s and 1990s All-Decade Teams.

T Lomas Brown

Brown spent two seasons with the Giants from 2000-2001 before going on to play his final season with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2002. Throughout his 18-year career, Brown made it to the Pro Bowl seven times, was named All-Pro five times (once as First-Team, four times as Second-Team) and was a member of the Buccaneers' Super Bowl XXXVII-winning team in his final season.

View rare photos from the historic rivalry between the New York Giants and Dallas Cowboys.