Skip to main content
New York Giants homepage

Giants News | New York Giants –

Roster Transactions

Presented by

Giants re-sign LS Zak DeOssie, WR Bennie Fowler, and DB Tony Lippett


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. – One day after confirming Eli Manning will return for a 16th season, the Giants today secured the services of their second-longest tenured player for the 2019 season.

Long-snapper Zak DeOssie will be the team's long snapper for the 13th consecutive year.

Manning and DeOssie are the only two active NFL players who played in both Super Bowls XLII and XLVI for the Giants.

The Giants also re-signed two other free agents, wide receiver Bennie Fowler and defensive back Tony Lippett.

DeOssie joined the Giants as a fourth-round draft choice from Brown in 2007. He has played in 188 regular-season games, the sixth-highest total in franchise history (just two games behind Amani Toomer) and 10 postseason games as the snapper for punts and placekicks and on coverage teams. DeOssie missed just four games in his first 12 years – the last quarter of the 2015 season after undergoing wrist surgery.

He has 87 career regular-season special teams tackles, one forced fumble and seven postseason special teams tackles. DeOssie was selected to the NFC Pro Bowl team as a special teams player in 2008 and 2010. He was elected the Giants' special teams captain by his teammates in each of the previous seven seasons (DeOssie was joined by Pro Bowler Michael Thomas in 2018).

Fowler and Lippett are both products of Michigan State University. The former joined the Giants last Oct. 16. Fowler played in 10 games with five starts and caught 16 passes for 199 yards, including a six-yard touchdown at Washington on Dec. 9. His longest reception was a 26-yarder at Indianapolis on Dec. 23.

Before coming to the Giants, Fowler had 56 receptions and scored five touchdowns in three seasons with the Denver Broncos.

Lippett was signed by the Giants on Oct. 25. He had one tackle in three games and was inactive for six games. Lippett played for the Miami Dolphins in 2015-16 before missing the 2017 season with a torn Achilles tendon.

Related Content